Elective module, MA in Digital Humanities, Maynooth University

Week 1: Tuesday 23 September 2014

Course introduction

Introduction to Digital History

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly


Week 2: Tuesday 30 September 2014

Digital History as Public History

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly


Week 3: Tuesday 07 October 2014

Digital Documentary Editing

Guest Lecturer: Brian Hughes


Week 4: Tuesday 14 October 2014

Student Presentations


Week 5: Tuesday 21 October 2014

Macro, micro and digital history

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly


Week 6: Tuesday 29 October 2014

There is no class on this day as it falls during Reading Week


Week 7: Tuesday 04 November 2014

Letters of 1916 Project

Guest Lecturer: Karolina Badzmierowska

Essay proposals are due in class this week.


Week 8: Tuesday 11 November 2014

Letters of 1916

This week will be a practical class looking at the transcribing process behind the Letters of 1916 Project.

Guest Lecturer: Karolina Badzmierowska


Week 9: Tuesday 18 November 2014

Historical research and writing in the digital age

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly


Week 10: Tuesday 25 November 2014

Student presentations


Week 11: Tuesday 04 December 2014

Linked Open Data

Guest Lecturer: Frank Lynam


Week 12: Tuesday 09 December 2014

Digital History in Practice: A Case Study

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly


Week 13: Tuesday 16 December 2014

Review and essay discussion

Lecturer: Jennifer Kelly